Enter 2017

A new year. I think of it like a new composition book, filled with nice, shiny blank pages. Or maybe more like one of those daily planners that you use to write down your appointments. Blank January 1 and by December 31, so scribbled in and crossed out, with writing in the margins, that it is practically indecipherable.

I expect most of you use your smart phone as a reminder, but I still receive the little planners at the end of the year from various charities I support. I pick the prettiest and toss the rest because I have asked and no one wants one. Frankly, I use it because I haven’t figured out how to add events to my phone’s calendar. Call me a Luddite. I write appointments in it and also on my desk calendar (yes, it is paper, too) and still manimg_1795age to forget. Thank goodness most doctors’ offices call you a day ahead to remind you.

Most people mark the new year not with a new planner ( I realize I may be alone in this) but with resolutions.  I am not making any resolutions this year, particularly the usual ones about starting a diet or exercise program. I walk most mornings and my weight is the lowest it’s been in years, so if I did make a resolution it would be to keep on keepin’ on.

No, this year I am changing how I do business. I have listened to successful authors and taken note of how they do it. I think I have gleaned a few things, foremost  of which this year I refuse to throw money away on promotions. There, I said it. If the promotion is not free, such as a review or mention on a blog post, I’m skipping it. I can see no tangible evidence that it does any good except for the person taking your money.

I am going to look deeper into self publishing. If I spend any money it will be for professional editing and cover designs.

I will ask for feedback from  my peers and in return offer my assistance. It is easier to spot someone else’s errors than your own.

I will finish my historical trilogy. The first is done, lacking only a cover. So that’s a priority.

I will look at my writing as a business, not a hobby.

Okay, so I listed my resolutions. I’m just not calling them that. I’m calling it a business plan.

And maybe next year I will have more to list on my tax returns than the amount of money it costs to get one good meal at a decent restaurant.

After all, it’s a new year and filled with more possibilities than my planner has blank (for now) pages.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lorrainequinn4
    Jan 01, 2017 @ 06:59:49

    Great business plan. My resolution/plan is to TRY to write at least and hour a day or seven hours a week. I saw a post on Facebook – if you write a page a day, you would have a 365 page book by the end of the year. (Common sense but sometimes it has to hit me in the face.) So in 2017, a page a day!.

    Reply

  2. CrizGazr
    Jan 01, 2017 @ 09:22:39

    I love the idea of the year as a business plan, especially the money portion. When we started our business it seemed everyone from SCORE to the how to books were all lined up to take our money! The business clients were all lined up to resist paying for our services, not out of anything but playing some sort of game. We won if we got what our contract stated. I resisted it and and hated each confrontation. But I learned and yes, being an artist is a business and the starving artist, hungry poet and cold writer in the attic only benefits the publisher, not the reader. I spent most of December trying out different daily schedules to find one that worked, made me most productive and I think I have a start. My morning pages seem to be vital and the very best thing I learned in the Artist Way seminar I took. But your post was the ah-ha moment. Yes, a business plan, that really resonates with me. Thank you Sandy and I look forward to seeing yours in action and y the way, Wednesday blogging is part of mine, thank you for carrying the load alone while I did some InnerAdult work! Happy New Year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

