How much is too much?

Many writers describe their efforts as similar to having a baby.

I beg to differ. The command to “Push!” comes after the book is born published. Your publisher, even if that person is you, knows the next step is to get that baby noticed.

I was advised to leverage my 4.5 star review in the February issue of InD’tale magazine and use it to convince reviewers they needed to hop on the bandwagon and go forth and do likewise. Well, none of the reviewers I have been researching wants to know how another reviewer rated your book. Nope. They want to come at it without any predetermined opinions.

I don’t blame them. There must be another way to leverage a good review, but that’s apparently not it.

I have been begging requesting reviews, though. It’s a tedious process to find reviewers who are a)are not swamped and are still accepting submissions b)review your genre and c)are willing to post it to various sites (amazon.com) and not just on their blog.

But I’ve been plugging away. The catch is, these people really are busy and although they love to read, it may take weeks before they get to my book.

I’ve been active on Facebook, although now I’m told the place to push your book is on Instagram. Excuse me, I just mastered Twitter. As for Pinterest, I’ve been locked out of my own site so often I’m ready to quit, with apologies to my five followers.

So. Maybe I had better take a closer look at the newest social media craze. Except I don’t have a smart phone. Don’t want a smart phone. Those things are smarter than I am, and I am depressed enough.

I may have to take the plunge. I have always prided myself on not being afraid to tackle new things. I learned html back when blogs and websites were the new kids on the block. I ought to be able to master this.

So, another learning curve. That’s all right. You are never too old a dog to learn a new trick.

Here’s another piece of advice.  Always remember it isn’t your book you are pushing. It’s you. And if people like you, they will take a look at your book.

Whether they buy it or not depends on many things–and shoving your book in their face and pleading with them to buy it isn’t one of them.

Sometimes “push” equals “pushiness” and that’s never a good thing.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

