The new normal

I’m not saying I’m in the new normal yet. They tell me I will be, but right now I’m in an in-between state of what was and what will be.

They say the memorial service will give me closure. I have to believe them, all the women who have walked this path before me. They tell me to take it one day at a time.

Frankly, facing the day is tough. I wake up and remember. If the cat didn’t cry for her breakfast I might stay in bed all day.

But I get up and feed her. I eat my own breakfast – a piece of toast or a bowl of oatmeal — more out of habit than hunger.

I clean his room, getting ready for the company that is coming. I replaced the half-century old mattress on his bed. The delivery men who took it out said no wonder it was so heavy, it was stuffed with feathers. I put up new curtains. It is no longer his room, but a guest room.

It’s cold outside, so I collect his sweaters and jackets and sweat pants and take them to the crisis ministry.

I shop for groceries and plan meals, for family and friends must be fed. When they offer to bring food I accept gratefully. I don’t feel like cooking. For lunch Friday I made a grilled cheese sandwich and threw half of it out. Those who know me know that I can eat no matter what, even if I am sick. Is this the new normal?

It hurts going past the nursing home where he died. It hurts going past Sonic, where he’d always take me up on it when I suggested, “Wanna go get a hot dog?” It hurts sitting alone in “our” church pew.

I’m assured it will get better. I am advised to  pray. I pray the first third of Anne Lamott’s prayer: “Help! Thanks! Wow!” I may get to the second part in time.

They tell me I am strong. I’ve never felt weaker. I can talk to people, even laugh, but when I’m alone I cry.

They tell me the memorial service will bring closure. That the pain and grief will fade in time. That I will remember only the good things we shared, and not the last, sad months of alternating hope and despair.

This, I assume, is the new normal.

I don’t want it. I want time to turn back and make things the way they used to be. But I know that can’t happen. The past is gone.

And I’m  waiting for my new normal to begin.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob Evans
    Jan 10, 2016 @ 04:59:35

    Sandy, you are on a long journey. Your friends can tell you what theirs was like, but each journey is unique.Don’t try to put time limits or boundaries on your grief. Everyone follows a different path. Just know the you have friends along the way, with a shoulder to lean on…

    Reply

  2. Kim Harrington
    Jan 10, 2016 @ 09:17:45

    Sandy,
    Thanks for putting your feelings on paper. It helps you, I’m sure, but also helps others going through a loss and gives us perspective. I will keep you at the top of my prayers and visit real soon.

    Reply

  3. CristineGzr
    Jan 15, 2016 @ 08:49:41

    Sandy, I remember walking into a doctor’s office looking for help with grief. I was 32 and just lost my husband after seven years of caregiving. I sat down and told the doctor that I figured we’d spend a week on each stage of grief and then I’m moving on… I was absolutely stunned as I waited for the doctor to stop laughing, tears were running down his face as I went through a variety of emotions. Poor guy, he apologized for a good ten minutes -eventually. I can’t think of a time in my life when I received more well-meant advice. I’ve lost parents, family and friends but nothing compares to a husband – it is unique and personal, the road traveled alone. But I did learn that for the most part the advice came from a place of love and that is the bit you hold on to –the love offered. Hugs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

