Rule number one

Okay, I goofed. I didn’t write a post last week, and I apologize to those who looked for it and missed it (hangs head in shame).

The truth is, the events of the preceding week made me just want to crawl into the bed and pull the covers over me. Not a good attitude for a writer, especially a blogger. Because, you see, on of the prime rules of blogging is that you have to post regularly. Come heck or high water. And a husband’s broken hip and rush to emergency surgery doesn’t count as an excuse.

I should have found time while sitting in the waiting room. Except the lady across from me  was painting her nails and watching her took all my attention. I have yet to figure out how to paint my nails without getting polish all over my fingers.

It wasn’t that long ago when someone suggested I write a blog. “What’s a blog?” I asked. I really didn’t know. It was something new and I was slow to jump on the bandwagon. I’m cautious that way.

Then I was invited to join Mimosa Mornings. It looked like fun, and two years later I am more aware of the rules. I try to be relevant, entertaining, and worth your time as I take you along on my writing journey.

What I would like to be is as entertaining, educational, funny, encouraging, and inspirational as Kristen Lamb. If you haven’t read her blog, Warrior Writers, I urge you to do so.  I look forward to reading it, and always learn something, or am inspired to get back to my WIP before I forget the hero’s name.

To back up a little, Jim broke his ribs mid-October and had to take therapy at the rehab center. Days before they were going to turn him loose, he fell again and broke his hip. We are looking at another long spell of therapy.

I haven’t written anything during the past seven weeks, having stuck to his side tighter than a tick on a coon hound. But now I know the therapists and aides and nurses can take better care of him than I can, so I plan during this next session to take a deep breath, walk out of the place once he is settled in for the afternoon, and come home for a few hours to sit down and catch up with my protagonists and their ongoing adventures.

Like blogging, writing takes commitment. Sometimes life comes at you hard, but if you really, really want to write you will, whether it be a blog post or a novel or a short story.

It all comes down to how much you want it. And if you can get back up after being knocked down.

I ‘m back. And I plan to keep on blogging every week and to finish my novel before…let’s say Valentine’s Day.

And you will finish yours, too. I have faith in us.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

