The joy of discovery

I was feeling a little down. My husband’s “short stay” in rehab after a fall is now entering a second month. An automatic payment was denied by the bank (not from lack of funds, but from the failure to update an expiration date) and my attempt to log in Overdrive, an e-book lending library, was denied because of “too many overdue books” at the local branch. What?

It turned out that I had overlooked one of Jim’s books because it was deep inside his man cave. When I went to the library to correct the situation, it made sense to me to check the shelves to see if there was something I hadn’t yet read. Yes, I love ebooks and print books equally. The best of both worlds.

I was delighted to see a new Louise Penny novel and grabbed it. I was introduced to this author by a friend some months ago and have tried to read everything she’s written: a magical combination of the astute Chief Inspector Armand Ganache and the wacky residents of the mystical village of Three Pines in Quebec Province. I checked out the book, looking forward to delving into a new read much like meeting an old friend on the street and going to a coffee shop for a long, cozy chat.

I love being introduced to new writers…well, new to me. Lately I have been reading Scandinavian authors, the first being the late Stig Larsson. Then I met Camilla Lackberg and Jo Nesbo. Most recently I rummaged through a pile of used books and discovered Henning Markell.

Maybe it is the long, hot summer that directed me to stories set in cold, Northern climes. Or maybe it is the excitement of a well-written mystery that takes me out of my world with its annoyances and occasional major setbacks to a world of mystery, adventure, and romance.

And isn’t that why we love books? And why we are constantly on the search for both familiar and new authors?

Do you have a favorite author that I might want to meet? Please introduce us! I’ll put the coffee on.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CristineGzr
    Nov 15, 2015 @ 07:26:27

    I completely agree. I can’t think of a place I’d rather be than in Three Pines, the characters, location and mysteries enthrall me. I grew up in New Hampshire with the last name, Desrosiers, and having a French name was not uncommon. Even the welcome sign to New Hampshire is bilingual, ‘Bienvenue au New Hampshire’ as does Louisiana.
    Being French in NH in the 50’s and 60’s was a different world. Muskie lost his bid by repeating a common joke, about the need for a new bridge to the West side (French side) of Manchester, when lily pads would do as well.
    But, it really Louise Penny’s books that gave me a fast forward in my knowledge of the world my ancestors fled in the 19th century to work as farmers and millworkers. The culture, custom and history of the French in Quebec was fascinating to me and sadly unknown. Like many of her readers, I want to retire to a fictional place and sit with Ruth and her duck and drink coffee.
    Better than any prescription, stronger than any therapy is finding a home in a book.

    Reply

  2. Sandy Bruney
    Nov 15, 2015 @ 13:57:33

    Ah, yes, but I suspect Ruth isn’t drinking coffee.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

