NaNoWriMo — No

The buzz now is all about NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writers Month). I have considered participating other years, but never have. I understand it’s a great way to jumpstart your writing. As  the slogan goes, “Just do it!”

I usually was halfway through another project and didn’t want to stop the momentum to start a new one. I think it would be a good thing for me to do, as I am a slow and plodding writer. To know I had to have 50,000 words done  in 30 days would surely propel me out of my doldrums. Whether  what I wrote would be any good or not is another question.

I share in the excitement of my writer friends as they post their word counts for the day, or number of pages, or however they chart their progress. And feel just a tiny bit guilty that I am not keeping up with this others in this race.

I was reading an author interview recently when the interviewee was asked if she had a certain number of words or pages she wrote every day. She said she didn’t count either. “I write scenes.”

My mouth may have dropped open, I’m not sure. But I felt the glow of a kindred spirit. That’s me! I wanted to shout. I write in scenes, too. It may be three pages or half a page, but when I am done I know I have accomplished my goal for the day. Just as so many words or so many pages add up to a novel, so do the equivalent number of scenes.

I’m fortunate that while I am away from my computer I have a keyboard attached to my iPad and can write a little as I sit here, keeping Jim company in the rehab center. I have actually written a few scenes in my WIP.

I’m not doing NaNoWriMo, but I am writing.

And for now, that’s enough.

 

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

