The Quiet Times

I am sitting here, trying to concentrate. We keep the door to the hallway open because the room is cold and the thermostat is broken. I’m hoping some warm air will find its way inside.

There is intermittent noise–carts rolling down the hall, the ding of the “cow bells” as Jim calls the call bells, the roar of the floor polisher, canned laughter from the television in a neighboring room, aides laughing or talking.

We’ve been here a week now, so I’ve become accustomed to the daily routine of meds, meals, and rehab exercises, which is when I slip outside to the real world and do some shopping or run home to check the cat and the mail.

Then there is a quiet time while Jim naps. I thought I could use this time to write, but so far I am distracted, not by the noise or interruptions, but by my own mind, I find it difficult to think about much more than getting Jim well enough to go home.

And yet, the story I am working on keeps insisting that it not be forgotten. I thought I had ended it with a big climactic scene and an explanation of the events leading up to it, but now I realize there is more to it. The characters cannot be let off so easily. They have not made the decisions they need to make in order for them to go forward. So I’ve been thinking about that, letting my mind go over the story and imagining dialogue and action that will get them to a real, not contrived HEV (Happy Ever After).

During the quiet times–when I am not letting my mind wander to the dark places I don’t want to go.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. lorrainequinn4
    Oct 25, 2015 @ 10:32:07

    Sometimes the unexpected, and the poor timing of life’s reality checks forces us to put our feet back on the ground and roots us to what is really important. I’m hope Jim is able to get home soon, and life returns to normalcy. Your story reminds me how precious life is and how it can change in a heartbeat. As I try to cram a full time job and a part time writing career into a day, I forget to stop and enjoy family life until there is a crisis. Balance hasn’t been something I’m good at but I’m learning. But just as you discovered, no matter how dim life seems at the moment, there is always a bright spot that comes from the experience, like a great plot twist. Keeping you in my prayers and waiting for your HEA.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

