Back to the Drawing Board

After receiving and acting on the suggested edits, I submitted “A Question of Time” to “my” publisher. I say “my” because she has published the first two books in the series, but that doesn’t guarantee she will pick up this one (fingers crossed).

So now I embark on a new project that is really an old one. I started a historical novel more than 10 years ago. It has gone through many metamorphoses through the years, the last being a spin-off from the original to elevate a secondary character to the forefront and telling her story.

I had eight beta readers and they loved it. I submitted it and received on of the most scathing rejections I think anyone has ever gotten. Sinking into my chair in humiliation, I tried to forget about it and concentrate on my other WIP.

But I couldn’t. I love the story, its mystery and hints of madness. So I dragged it out again (figuratively, as you can’t drag something out of a computer file).  I decided to try again.

This time, I’m limiting POV (point of view) to just one character. That’s a major change in itself, but I am also making her more mature, which will in turn change her viewpoint about the odd things going on around her. And instead of killing off another major character, I am going to let him live. Redeemed.

That’s a lot of revising and I doubt I will keep much of the original work except for some descriptions and key plot points. It might as well be a new story, except…it isn’t. front cover

Do you ever find yourself unwilling or unable to let go of a story because it won’t let go of you?

I don’t often indulge in shameless self promotion on this blog because I value my readers. But if you are interested in my books, here’s a link to my Amazon author page: amazon.com/author/sandrabruney

The e-book version of “Angels Unaware” is 99¢ until the end of June at which time it will go back to $3.99. Just wanted to let you know.

And now back to my heroine and her misadventures.

 

 

Image

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

