Counting to fifty

The sun is out! The sun is out! Like Snoopy, I’m doing a happy dance.

Funny how the weather influences our moods. Last week I was frankly whiny.  And snarky.  And taking it out on the weather man who has nothing at all to do with creating the weather — he just reports it.

Weather affects my writing, too. When I’m depressed, the words just don’t come.  I can spend an hour trying to write that scene that was so vivid in my head at 3 a.m. This last week I deleted every page I wrote the week before. This isn’t helpful when you set a very public goal of writing at least fifty pages during January.

You would think with the dreary weather and being housebound it would be the ideal time to write. Nope. I’d rather sit and read. Other people’s words are much more interesting than my own.

On a sunny day, with all outdoors beckoning, I can be found at my workplace happily writing. The words flow.

As my kids used to say, go figure.

If I could afford it I would spend my winters in Mexico or Florida, or some other sunny place. Think of the writing I’d get done!

But with the 50-page goal in mind,  I needed to buckle down and do it anyway.  Those deleted pages had to be replaced. What I did was incorporate the miserable weather and had my hero sneezing his way through cold, damp, and sleet.

If I had to suffer, so did he.

And now that I’ve got him there, I can’t let today’s sunshine suddenly bring a reprieve.

So today I’m writing about a miserable day on a perfectly beautiful day.

Hey! At least I’m writing. I may get those 50 pages finished after all.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

