Going paperless

We finally made the Big Decision to stop getting the print edition of our daily  newspaper. We’d debated it for over a year, but kept renewing because — well, because I like working the crossword puzzle with my breakfast coffee.

But this last price hike shoved us over the edge and after some haggling, we opted for the e-edition plus the print edition on Sundays. Because of the coupons.

The haggling wasn’t between us, but between Jim and the newspaper salesperson. At one point I heard him yell “I can get it cheaper by going to the grocery store!” But they did reach an accord, and now I read the paper on my iPad. Before I got eyestrain I discovered I can tap an article and switch to an enlarged version.

I suppose this is just another indicator of how ether is taking over ink. I don’t know how many books I’ve downloaded to my iPad by clicking the “buy” button. I do still visit the library. I don’t take out as many books as I used to, but it’s still the best source for the newer books and bestsellers at an affordable price: Free.

Many of my relatives and friends are getting e-Christmas cards this year, too. At 49 cents a card, it’s a lot more cost-effective for me. And who saves Christmas cards, anyway? I send mine off to St. Jude’s for recycling, but even that has become expensive. It cost me over $10 last year to mail a bunch of old cards, even with the backs torn off.

I realize that the more people use e-mail instead of stamps, the deeper into the black hole the post office plunges. I wish it were different, but honestly, we haven’t received a thing except bills in our mail box in the past few years that hasn’t gone directly into the trash can. And I have absolutely never received anything important on a Saturday.

I made the remark to Jim that we are really dinosaurs for not having an iPhone to pay our bills with, and all the other things you can do by just holding it next to something. How does that work, anyway? I suppose we will have to learn, just the way we learned to operate our computers.

As for the crossword puzzle, I expect any day to discover they have made it interactive on the e-edition like the crossword puzzles you find online. But for now, I still work it the old-fashioned way, with a pen–after first printing it out from the iPad.

Not entirely paperless after all, but getting there.

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lorrainequinn4
    Nov 30, 2014 @ 08:51:28

    Great summary of the techno verses paper war I struggle with in my head. I didn’t want an e-reader because I love holding a book in my hands now I love the convenience. Plus I can make the print larger. I fought the smart phone because I only need to talk and text. Yet here I am in bed with my smartphone answering emails. I am learning to embrace the techno world and most of the time life is good. Until it takes over and over rides my text sending gibberish into cyber world!

    Reply

  2. Sandy Bruney
    Dec 01, 2014 @ 08:02:15

    i have read some pretty funny/embarassing texts caused by “auto correct.” Be careful out there!

    Reply

  3. CristineGzr
    Dec 01, 2014 @ 15:22:00

    It is a struggle Sandy, I used to spend Sunday mornings in bed with the paper. Then I moved to a place where the paper was so small, I could read it as I walked the driveway and there was no news, just recycled stuff from around the country. I read everything online now and pay all bills online, so I only get flyers in the mail. It’s sad.

    Reply

  4. Sandy Bruney
    Dec 01, 2014 @ 20:00:48

    If it weren’t for catalogs and fliers, I wouldn’t get any mail at all. Except the few bills we don’t pay on line. it is sad, I haven’t received a “real” letter since my dear cousin died a year ago. Oh, wait, I still get birthday cards. all is not lost yet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

