Wednesday Spotlight

This Wednesday, we welcome author Lucie Ulrich. Lucie took her time becoming a writer. Not much of a reader as a child, writing was of no interest to  her–until she joined

a church drama team. The desire to write a skit, and not simply act out someone else’s, was so strong that once she started she couldn’t seem to stop. That first skit led to her becoming the drama team director, then eventually the performing arts director at a small Christian school.

Lucie’s first novel was penned under a tree in a field in Holland. Though her first, second, and third attempts never saw the light of day, parts of each of them became the foundation for “Broken Vessels,” her first published work.383617_2482960047113_1406066125_n

No longer involved with the performing arts, Lucie enjoys going on photo shoots with her husband and taking long (or short) road trips. She hopes to find inspiration as she and her husband explore the four corners of the United States.

Lucky you, getting to travel! I wonder what your work space (presumably at home) looks like.

Lol! I have a very nice desk, but it currently holds my printer, a lamp, and a phone. I write on the futon in my den, surrounded by planner, note pads, my cell phone, bank books, a box of Puff’s tissues, and my dog,Gracie.

Sounds like you are well settled in on that futon!. How do you come up with titles and character names?

Ah, the dreaded names! Normally I think of names I like and see if the fit the characters I’m creating. I usually have my main characters’ names chosen ahead of time, while the secondary names come as I write. One thing I won’t do is put in a name of anyone I’ve ever had a problem with. For that reason, certain names will NEVER be used. Titles are a bit trickier. I try to find something from the story that relates (obviously). “Broken Vessels” was about hurting people, and since my books are inspirational, it fit. “The Rose Ring” was a complete rewrite. In the earlier version, the ring comes into play very early in the story. I considered something different, but couldn’t seem to back away from the original.

I think I would use the names of people I had problems with and make them the villain or kill them off. What advice do you have for aspiring writers?

To write from your heart.I don’t feel it’s best to always write what you know,not that you can’t incorporate things you’re familiar with.Writing outside your comfort zone stretches you and brings about a need for research. Write daily, associate with other writers, join a critiquing group, and develop thick skin as early on as possible. And as hard as it is to do, embrace rejection. It’s part of the learning and growing process.

It’s hard not to take rejection personally, but you have to move on. I’ve read of many now-famous authors who were rejected over 100 times before they landed a contract. Speaking of famous authors, what author,dead or alive, would you most like to meet?

This will probably sound really silly, but I’d have to say Dick Francis. For those who may not know, Mr. Frances was a British writer who wrote primarily about steeplechase races, horses, and jockeys. I started reading his books years and years ago, and couldn’t wait for his latest release to come out.though I’m not a horse person, I loved his characters, settings, and mysteries that filled his stories.

What is something unique about you that others don’t know?

I hate wearing shoes. I live in the south, so it’s sandals and flip-flops most of the time. Even in winter, I wear tennis shoes of clog(ish)-type shoes–nothing with a hard back. Breaking in shoes breaks my feet.

A girl after my own heart! I dread Sundays when  I have to  put  on the heels. If I could wear tennis shoes to church, I would. Now, what do you love that most people don’t like and wouldn’t understand why you do?

I hate shopping for clothes, but love to go grocery shopping–preferably by myself. I find it relaxing, and take my time walking up and down the aisles, whether I need anything on that aisle or not. It can be embarrassing, however, since I tend to talk to myself when reading labels or looking for a particular item. I’ve gotten a few strange looks in the past.

That’s not strange, my husband is the same. I try not to be impatient when I’m with him, but I’m the type who runs in after what they need and right back out.

Now for some quick questions. What is your favorite:

Season ~ Autumn

Food ~ steak–medium to medium rare

Movie ~ “While You Were Sleeping”

Place you’ve visited ~ Paris

Thank you! Now, tell us about your new release, “The Rose Ring”.

Though her brain tells her no, Sky’s heart says yes. She accepts Micah’s in-name-only proposal, knowing it’s unlikely anything permanent will come of it. She’s been in love with him since the ninth grade, and if he hasn’t figured it out by now, there’s little chance he ever will.

When an unexpected kiss ignites a spark, giving Micah hope for a possible future with Sky,a tragic accident threatens to take it all away. Torn between following his heart, doing the right thing, and forgiving the past, Micah is lost in a whirlwind of pain and emotions. Will he make it through the next two years, or will a long-kept family secret be the undoing of them all?

 Excerpt

Micah took Sky’s hand and they hurried across the street, stopping in front of the double wooden doors. He reached into his pocket and pulled out a shiny gold ring. “This was my dad’s. It’s a bit big for me, but it’ll do for today.”

She held out her hand and he dropped it into her palm. They’d gone shopping a few days ago and he’d bought her a thin gold band, but not one for himself. The fact that he only planned on wearinTheRoseRing-LucieUlrichg the ring for the ceremony solidified her in-name-only status. She clutched the ring. “We’d better go. Don’t want to keep the judge waiting.”

Once inside, the judge’s secretary ushered them into the office. His Honor stood when they entered and greeted them with a firm handshake and warm smile. “Robe or no robe?” he asked.

She looked at Micah. “What do you think?”

He smiled. “Your call.”

“In that case, I vote for the robe.”

The ceremony was short, with only the court clerk and the judge’s secretary in attendance. but that didn’t bother Sky. Nothing else mattered at the moment. This was her wedding day, perhaps the only one she would ever have. For that reason alone she chose to absorb every detail and print them on her heart.

Micah stood ramrod still until the judge had him place the ring on her finger. His hand shook a little, but his tender smile was the one Sky would forever remember.

Her next memory would be their first kiss. She knew it was purely out of obligation. After all, what would the three people staring at them think if a newly married couple didn’t seal the deal with a kiss?

When Micah leaned in, one side of his mouth lifted in a smile causing her stomach to flip. Assuming the kiss would be short, she was taken by surprise when his warm lips lingered longer than she’d expected. The scent of his spicy cologne tickled her nose. The feel of his hand on her cheek sent her heart rate soaring. She couldn’t even imagine what her reaction would be if he ever kissed her for real.

Hmm, that kiss  sounded pretty real to me. Where can we buy the book so we can find out if this in-name-only marriage turns out to be more?

Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, Smashwords, and Kobo.

Almost done. Please tell us where we can find out more about you and your books.

My Website, Facebook, Goodreads and Twitter:@LucieUlrich.

Thank you! And best of luck on your book.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Helen Pollard
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 17:22:42

    Sounds cosy on that futon with the dog! My cat just walks all over the keyboard … not very helpful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

