The thrill is… not gone

I’m late posting today because it has been one heck of a week. I got the final book cover and a few days later the galleys. And a release date (August 26).

This isn’t my first time around and you would think the thrill would have worn off. I can tell you, it definitely hasn’t! To see the finished product and to know that in less than a month my book will available — well, it’s just as much a thrill now as it was the first time.

Maybe authors of 20 or 30 books view the procedure as humdrum and yawn when they see the final cover, or sigh when they sit down to do the final  proofreading. Call me naive, but I don’t think so. There has to be that little glimmer of self-satisfaction, the little voice that whispers “You did it” no matter how many times they’ve done it before.

As for proofing, I’ve read the manuscript so many times my eyes glaze over. I wouldn’t catch a typo if the word were spelled backward. So I asked Jim, who is a good proofreader. Typos leap off the page specifically to annoy him. So I was thrilled that he agreed to help.

He was reading yesterday and looked up with a frown. “I just read chapter nine, and now it’s chapter seven.”

So, okay, I printed the book out in fits and starts. Every time there was a paper jam or I forgot to load more paper, the printer’s computer forgot where it left off. Unfortunately, so did I.

“That’s okay,” I told him. “They recommend reading from the last page to the front so you see the words and don’t get involved in the plot.” Then, I couldn’t help asking, “How do you like it?”

Now, this is a guy who reads James Patterson, Clive Cussler, David Baldacci, Lee Child — and my book is a romance set in an alternate history and includes shape-shifters and other paranormal characters. Not his preferred reading at all.

“It’s okay,” he said.

You have to know Jim. That’s a least a four-star review. And in case you are curious, here’s the cover: And If you are curious enough to want to read an excerpt, you can here: http://www.sandrazbruney.com

AQuestionofBoundaries453X680

 

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

