The planks in the platform

Ah, social media.  We recognize its importance even as we bewail how it eats up our time like a monster out of control.

As writers, we know we have to “build our platform,” and that blogs, Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, Tumblr,  and all the rest are the planks.

I read recently (and forgive me if I can’t remember where) that when you blog and then “share” with your other accounts, you aren’t really doing any good. The writer argued that each venue should be treated differently because the followers differ. I think she may be correct, in that I know all my Facebook followers, but there are people following me on Twitter whom I’ve never met, let alone heard of.  So do they expect different things from me?

But, I whine, it’s so easy to just tap the “share” button and you are all done.

share

Or not. I’m not sure how many of my Twitter followers actually click on the link to my blog.  Probably none.

So, I know one thing for sure: it’s tricky to navigate the social media path. And you can lose your way to your goal, be it educating people on a topic, sounding off, sharing recipes or (ahem) promoting your books.

My own opinion is that rather than getting bogged down for hours each day trying to keep up, you select the “planks” that seem to be reaching the most people. And even more important, the  ones you feel the most comfortable doing. Some people love to Tweet all day long; if I tweet more than once a week it’s because I’m feeling chatty. But I do  like Facebook, so  I’m likely to be on there quite a bit. I’m thinking of Pinterest, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. We’ll see.

What do you think? Is all the effort worth it?

Or should we stick to writing our books and hope word of mouth is our best friend?

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. lorrainequinn4
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 12:38:13

    Sandy, I agree. I hate Twitter, but try to keep up with Facebook. I have started to use Pinterest to pin pictures of my characters or of places I am describing in my book. I just started and it takes time. Since mine is a series I hope it will be worth it as I will reference characters and places throughout all three books. Honestly, I know social media is important but if I don’t finish my writing project I won’t have much need for all that social media.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

