Zen and the art of blogging

The title is a misnomer. I know nothing about Zen. And I probably know less than nothing about the art of blogging.

But I know more today than I did yesterday.

To back up, this has been the Month of Conferences. First Margie Lawson’s Master workshop last week, and yesterday the Carolinas Writers Conference. Although I took copious notes at both, I’m afraid I had so much information put in front of me that some of it might have drifted past me like so many dandelion puffs. I hope a few precious seeds landed in my subconscious and will grow there so I can dig down and pull them out when needed.

At the CWC, I took a two-hour workshop led by Tamra Wilson. She talked about writing columns and blogs. I wrote a weekly column for 10 years and have no wish to revisit that particular commitment. But I do write two blogs a week (the good Lord willin’ and the creek don’t rise) and I often find myself floundering. Tammy said we should take a good look at why we want to blog in the first place.

That was easy. I wanted to sell my books.

So I started writing Definition of a Dream. After awhile, though, I got tired of drumming that same old tune. I started writing about my life, much like my old newspaper column called “Confessions of a Yankee Housewife.”  And since so much of my life is tied up in writing, I used the space to moan and groan about my failures, or brag about my successes, or simply share the process with my friends and relations. It’s a blog about writing geared to folks who think writers are a little crazy (we are) and who are curious about how we got that way. And occasionally I feel free to digress and talk about whatever is bothering or exciting me at the moment.

When asked to contribute a weekly blog to Mimosa Mornings, I decided to continue writing about…well, writing, but to a different audience. This blog is for those who take writing seriously as an avocation if not a career.  Here is a place to share ideas and ask questions. So you won’t read much about my personal life here, but you will share my writing  journey.

Right now, I am working on a sequel to “A Question of Boundaries.” I’ve never written a sequel before, so I haven’t progressed much beyond the first five chapters I mentioned last week.  I know I can’t assume a reader will have read the first book, so I have to slide in pertinent information in a way that a person who has read “Boundaries”  won’t be bored. So how do I do that?

A tricky question. Almost Zen-like.

I’m thinking of  Elizabeth Peters (creator of pyramindophile Amanda Peabody Emerson) or Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. Each book is a stand-alone, yet the author manages to include enough past information so you aren’t lost in the cross-references.

I’m not saying I will ever be that good. But you learn by studying the masters.

And by attending conferences with superb teachers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

