Getting hooked on YouTube

I posted a few weeks ago how much I loved being able to connect on social media. Shoot, I hear the news before it can get on TV or in the newspapers.

The other night I took a picture of Spooky, our calico, with my phone , e-mailed it to my iPad and posted it on Facebook, all without leaving my comfortable position on the sofa. I felt very clever and if you knew how old I am, you’d think so, too. And yes, I know I could have taken the photo with the iPad, but those pictures have generally been a little fuzzy. I’m surprised at the quality of the phone camera, though. Almost as good as my Canon.

People think these toys are something for the younger generation to enjoy while we old fogies scratch our heads. Not so. I think we elders have found our niche.

YouTube is another great invention that we wouldn’t have dreamed of a generation ago. I tend to enjoy the cute kitten videos most, with cute toddlers a close second.

My husband has recently discovered this miracle. He stumbled into bed after midnight one night last week and when I asked him what on Earth he was doing up so late, he mumbled, “YouTube.”

Of course my first frantic thought was –oh no! Because you know what the most popular videos are. I instantly put this thought away as definitely not in character.

“Cute kittens?” I asked. “They’re the most popular uploads next to you-know-what.”

“No, he said, “Military.” Seems there are hundreds, if not thousands, of videos on military matters. Airplanes, ships, helicopters, you name it.

Now he tunes in and watches the latest updates on the latest airplanes and vessels. Then he tells me all about them. I can’t complain, because before now I complained that he never talked to me.

I’m glad he found a new interest, because after all, how many James Patterson and David Baldacci books are out there? And except for a few British comedies, we don’t  watch much TV.

So I’m glad he’s found something to occupy his time, even if he does feel compelled to share.

I can get even. Last night I stuck my iPad under his nose and demanded that he watch a cute kitten video.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

