How fast do you write?

I writhe with envy when other writers post that they have written 1o,000 words, or that they’ve completed a book they started not over a month ago.

I’ve never tried NaNoWritMo for the simple reason that I know before I start that I’m set up for failure.

I cannot write fast, and writing fast is what counts in this world where to be noticed you have to follow up each book with another before your readers forget your name and go on to someone else.

Oh, there are some mega writers who come out with an 800-page book every five years or so.  I am one of the fans who grab them as soon as they hit the shelves of my virtual book store. (I’d buy them at a real book store if there was one within 50 miles of me, but there isn’t.) So  obviously, some writers can take their time, do their research, select the perfect word after an hour’s judicious thought, and still be a whopping success.

You can name them off the top of your head–because frankly, there aren’t that many. The point is, they were such a success with their first book that they didn’t have to worry about building a platform because they already had one. Instantly.

We’d all love to reach success the first way, with one giant best seller and our name on everyone’s lips. Most writers know this  is as likely to happen as winning the Power Ball, and so build their careers like a pyramid, brick by brick, until they reach the top. They learn to write well and to write fast, keeping the books coming and adding to their fan vase with each additional novel.

I know deep down in my heart I need to stop agonizing over every word and paragraph and just get on with the job. To stop waking in the middle of the might with an idea that involves changes throughout the manuscript. To stop wasting valuable time on social media and watching TV. Well, not the last because I don’t watch TV except for a very few, favorite shows. I read.

When I could be writing.

That’s all I’m going to say. Now back to my work in progress which is very nearly finished. Except for that one, teeny change I have to make…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. CristineGzr
    Feb 16, 2014 @ 13:40:58

    I wonder if anyone is writing as much as they’d like. It’s easy for me to crank out a lot of words daily for maybe 80% of the first draft, then the molasses drips onto my keyboard, actually I need to make sure everything is going well. For example, today I was watching Thor with DH and started wondering why Loki had no love interest, his poor wife in the Saga’s would have been some fun comic relief. Then I realized that in my pure romance my main character really didn’t have a conflict under her control, everyone else did and it was all happening to her. Then, I realized I had set the groundwork and suddenly knew what her conflict was and it would fit in perfectly. It was as though I left bread crumbs for it. Had I stormed through my daily word count, that book would be done and done poorly with a big gaping hole in it’s plot. So, I am a firm believer in doing the best you can do and not looking over your shoulder at what others are doing.

    I am watching Flemming in acorn.com, it’s the life of Ian Flemming. His 007 novels were started in 1952, he died in 1962. He needed to live all those years, through those adventures, meet those people before he could sit down to write. You’ve written some lovely books and I’m sure you have many more inside you and they will come at the right speed for you. But, of course, that doesn’t stop the mind from spinning! Another wonderful post and some wonderful thoughts to ponder!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

