Spring Housecleaning – Sorta

Do you remember Fibber McGee’s closet? When he opened the door,  everything fell out. Of course, this was a radio program (Fibber McGee and Molly), so we only heard all the racket caused by things falling out, but we could picture it  vividly in our heads.

This is what has happened to my computer. It got so loaded up with stuff that everything fell out. Well, not literally. Still, I had been saving files into my external hard drive since 2008.

I went into the E Book (not to be confused with e-books you order from a publisher, but the name my computer gave to the external hard drive) and sent all the files I wanted to save back to my hard drive. Then I tried too delete all the old files that I no longer needed. What I didn’t know was that these files were secretly replicating themselves–to infinity and beyond. There were folders within folders within folders with the same files. It was like looking into a hall of mirrors. And, they were so corrupted I couldn’t open any of them.

Being quite dumb about computers, I tried deleting the files one by one. I soon realized this was going to take a long time. Like eight hours a day for the next six months.

Then I got a brilliant idea. I reformatted the thing. It warned me that I would lose all my files. Yes! Exactly what I wanted it to do.

It took a long time, but my E Book is now ready to start all over. Meanwhile, I cleaned out all the files in my hard drive and deleted quite a few outdated documents and duplicate photos (which for some reason go into two separate but equal photo folders).

I feel organized and ready to start afresh.

I just hope I didn’t delete something that I am really, really going to need down the road.

But if I haven’t needed it since 2008, I don’t think that’s going to happen.

I can’t advise anyone too strongly that you need a backup system, whether it’s the Cloud, Dropbox, an external hard drive, or a memory stick, especially if you are a writer. It isn’t a question of if something is going to happen to your Work in Progress, but when.

It’s good to have an extra closet where you can keep copies of everything you write.

It’s also good to give the closet a thorough cleaning every few years!

+

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CristineGzr
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 07:04:26

    Good work Sandy, reformatting your computer is a great idea, if you know you have backed up everything. Files and hard code get corrupted over time and reformatting replaces everything with fresh brand new code. Of course, all the updates need to be done but that is a small price for a fresh start. I use DropBox and an usb on my keychain. I had an external drive but it died three days after the warranty ran out, LaCie offers a recovery service but I was able to sneak in the back door using hacks a friend taught me. The LaCie is now a $300 paperweight. Dropbox and current WIPs on a flash drive works well for me, also it helps that I write in Scrivener, which autosaves every minute to the DropBox version. I can leave my laptop and pick up the book on my desktop without losing my place. Cleaning closets/files is a great end of year activity!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

