Using the right tools

I made a commitment to write every day and I am pleased to say I’ve stayed with it.

The thing I have to admit is that I haven’t always been working on my novel. Still, I am up to 71 pages. Not as far as I’d hoped, but much more than my usual output. I’ve been distracted by making comments on Facebook (does that count if they’re very well-thought out comments?) and emailing my kids about what to get their kids for Christmas and then ordering the grandkids’ presents on the Internet.

But every day I make myself work on the novel. I think I will call it “Six Weeks” because that’s how long it takes Karyn (the heroine) to realize what she truly wants from her life. I’d like to think I could finish this in six weeks, but I’m trying to be realistic.

The outline helps. But I have discovered after five chapters that I haven’t kept to it very well. I’ve left out some things and added others that weren’t on the list. But the story itself is going forward.

Today I didn’t work on chapter six. I went over the first five chapters to make they fit in the corrected timeline. I added some scenes, and some internal dialogue to strengthen the character’s point of view.

And then I corrected the outline to match what I had actually written. How lame is that? Is someone going to come in the house, commandeer my computer, and check? I think I have issues with outlines that I haven’t seen addressed in any book or workshop.

There is another step I need to take before going on. I tore out pages 49-50 in last months RWA Report. The article, “The Writer’s Toolkit,” was “Fleshing out your characters.” I plan to go over this and fill in the blanks for the main characters in the book. I can see them in my head, but after I gave Karyn hazel eyes in one scene and brown eyes in another, I think I’d better do this exercise before proceeding.

Yes, there is more to writing a book than sitting down and writing. I can  say I’ve published five books, and have written four more that are either abandoned or going the rounds. so why am I making a change now?

Because I want this book to be better. And now that I have the tools to make it better, why not use them?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CristineGzr
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 08:39:02

    That’s great progress Sandy! I’m actually looking at my outline today.
    At RWA13, I attended Cherry Adair’s seminar and learned some valuable techniques. One, I didn’t follow well and now I am going to spend the day today catching up. She writes an outline but rewrites/adjusts it daily, after she finishes writing, to adapt to changes. This way she keeps on track. I forgot this and I’ve wavered from my outline, which is good. The outline wasn’t made of concrete, but I am heading in a particular direction, so I need to revisit the plan and adjust it. The outline is also a critical component for me when I’m writing the synopsis, so keeping on track avoids that sticky mess! I hope this helps and kudos on your progress 😉

    Reply

  2. Sandy Bruney
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 15:50:13

    I’m glad to hear I am not the only revising my outline. I thought I was cheating.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

