So far, so good

Last week I declared my intention to try a new approach to writing.  Previously, I wrote when the mood struck, typing feverishly for hours and maybe even days, and then stopping for days and maybe even weeks at a time, until the muse whispered in my ear again.

My new plan was to set goals. I realized immediately that word count wouldn’t do it. It just takes longer to write some scenes than others. For example, yesterday I wrote a scene in which the heroine is introduced to fracking. I had to have it explained to her in a way that the reader understood the concept without some other character giving a lecture. The information had to come naturally. It had to be “entertaining” and not dry facts.

I hauled out my newspaper clippings and brochures and my notes from an environmental meeting I’d attended. It took a lot of thought and re-writing before I was satisfied that the reader as well as the heroine learned something without it being force fed. I didn’t come up with the ten-page goal I had set, but I was satisfied.

Yep, my goal is ten pages a day. Doesn’t sound like much, but the fact is I’m averaging eight pages per session. I figure by mid-January I will have the first draft completed. Much faster than the year it usually takes me.

But, this means sitting down every day and writing. No excuses. Even when I whine to my muse that I don’t feel like it. Even if not a single idea is rattling around in my brain. I know now that if I sit down and start writing something, anything, the ideas will come.

I find this means putting the writing first. Before laundry, before vacuuming, before watering the plants, all handy excuses to procrastinate.

Not before feeding the cat, however. Some things do claim priority.

So that is how week one went. I’ll let you know how I do next week, what with Thanksgiving and family.

Maybe I’ll just have to rise early and write before everyone’s up.

Yep, I can do that. I got up at five this morning to bake pies for the church covered dish dinner. Not because I’m some kind of nut, but because I totally forgot I was supposed to bring something until I went to bed, and I wasn’t going to get back up and go roll out pie dough.

Here’s wishing all of you a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday.

 

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. CristineGzr
    Nov 24, 2013 @ 07:11:19

    I really enjoyed this post, Sandy. I am nearing the end of my first year making writing my 9-5 and it’s been amazing. It’s been hard but in a very good way, like baking or gardening -where the hard work leaves you feeling stronger and proud. RWA truly helped me realize my bliss. You are so right about word counts, to me they are a necessity -they placate my inner drive but some scenes require so much more in research or emotional energy that somedays 900 words can be harder than 2500. Those days are the sauce on the eggs benedict, the hollandaise that was do difficult to make and is only a dollop but makes the whole meal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

