We’ll see how this works.

Next Friday starts my fourth NaNoWriMo and I am eagerly anticipating it. Getting it done, whatever ‘it’ is, has always been a matter of pride for me. I finished my junior year with 24 credits and passing grades; albiet missing  weeks two through four due to a family illness. I still have a cold hatred of periodic table, trying to memorize it when my mind was in meltdown and not sure if my hatred is endo- or exothermic. Having two containers of stuff get hot or cold or foam over when mixed just didn’t impress me. Later, working twenty hours of overtime weekly and still managing to write and paint, showed me that anyone can find the time to do what they love without whining that they don’t have time.

My first NaNoWriMo, ended with the first week. I was confused, I wasn’t working and had all the time in the world, yet I couldn’t manage to last even one week. Two years later, I attempted another and missed by ten thousand words but felt better, exhausted and drained but better. Then, the next year I did it! It was hard making up for Thanksgiving and family guests. Last year, I tried to write extra early on, so after Thanksgiving I would not have fallen behind. I didn’t count on the malaise that follows a dysfunctional in-law live drama holiday. I managed to punch through the tears and finish with a few days to spare.

This year, so much has changed and it’s nothing for me to write 1,700 words a day but I plan on a minimum of 2,000, which will get me done before Thanksgiving. I also have another goal which will require about 4 hours a day. This will require special planning. Thanks to a surprise visit from dear friends I got the spare room cleaned and ready, now I won’t be stressing over that for Thanksgiving. I did a complete spring cleaning last week and only have three chores left for this coming week. Then it’s NaNo, 8 hours of writing a day. Four hours ever morning on the CR and four hours in the afternoon editing the RS, hopefully neither will end up FUBAR!

Of course, staying healthy, eating right, getting enough exercise and sleep are mandatory for success! Starting and ending each day smiling will be my yardstick. Keeping one important fact in mind is all vital. NaNoWriMo is nothing more than training for future years of working/writing efficiently 8 hours a day, seven days a week! Regardless of what is going on in my life. I have decades of proof that I am capable of getting back on track.

So, yeah! Good luck and have fun to all who take on NaNoWriMo this year! Think of it as training for a marathon or learning to play piano -it’s practice and endurance that leads to victory.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashantay Peters
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 10:46:23

    Best wishes! I tried NaNo once and word count challenges from friends on other occasions. Neither work. What can I say – I’m a rebel and stubborn and need to finish a book at my own speed. Im glad you are prepared and ready this year!

    Reply

  2. CristineGzr
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 11:36:34

    It’s kind of funny that people think NaNoWriMo is something they need to do or that they are a rebel for not doing it. It is structured to be an independent activity, I find no interest in the community aspects, which is a good thing for me since I was bullied out of a community recently. I like using the activity as a tool to increase my productivity, which it has done every year I do it. I never dreamed I could reach a daily level of 3,000 words a day but November’s writing has helped me shoot for that eventual goal of 5,000 words a day. So, that said I am writing about my process, not challenging anyone, not trying to get anyone to be my friend, just writing in a digital void.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

