Almost there…

I have been working on two projects lately. Well, not at the same time. I put my historical novel aside to concentrate on re-releasing my first book.

The news that my publisher had gone out of business was a blow. But after consideration, I decided not to try to find a new publisher, knowing well how long it might take for someone to take a chance on a book that had already been published. I turned to self-publishing. At least the editing had already been done by a professional!

But I needed a new cover. Now here is where having talented children comes in handy.  One of my sons created a beautiful cover for me. So now I am days away from putting it out there–again. I just need to get a proof copy to be certain it is free of flaws — or as free as humanly possible.

I’m  back to my historical. I’ve had feedback from my beta readers and made the changes I agreed needed made. It’s been edited by a pro. I am going over it for the umpteenth time, changing a word here or there.  It is as ready as it will ever be.

But I am strangely reluctant to send it out. I look at the months of querying I did for my first two traditionally published books, the endless stream of rejections, the yearlong editing process before I held them in my hand. Can I start that process again with a new book?

It’s daunting. I could take the easy way out and self-publish (not that that is easy). But, damn it, I want the validation that comes with acceptance.

So I suppose I will be working on the synopsis and query letter in the next few weeks. beginning the process all over again.

We writers are gluttons for punishment.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CristineGzr
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 09:00:52

    Sandy, I am thrilled to hear you are doing this! I can’t wait to order the book! Listening to all the writers talk about self publishing, it’s obvious that it’s a different path for all writers but it’s definitely a place for out of print books to thrive! What an exciting time for readers and writers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

