Mewmaw’s Meemores

While visiting our oldest son and his family in Georgia, my daughter-in-law set up a camera and taped my husband telling his story.  They both seemed to enjoy the experience.

Not everyone cares to hear the old folks’ boring stories of the old days, which is a shame, because the old folks don’t stay around forever. I desperately wish  I had written down all the stories my Dad told. I thought I would remember them, but the details have gotten misty, if not vanished altogether,

A few years ago, I started a kind of memoir for my grandchildren. I wrote for awhile, gathered pictures and family genealogy, but then gave it up. I didn’t think anyone would be interested.

Now I’m wondering if I shouldn’t complete the project.  I can’t truthfully say no one is interested, it’s just that no one is interested now. (with the exception of my son’s wife). But, Like her and like me, the grandkids may become interested in their family history in their middle years, when the people who could tell them about it will be gone.

It isn’t that I had such a riveting life. But I did (and do) live in riveting times. Born in the tail end of the Great Depression, I had a child’s eye view of World War II. I remember when we got our first telephone with a party line. Now my grandkids have iPhones.  Our television had a small black and white screen, usually filled with “snow”,  and the one station we got signed off by playing the national anthem at 11 o’clock at night.  I remember when it was exciting to see a jet air plane fly overhead and the sadness I felt when the last steam engine gave way to the diesel locomotive. I recall the Cold War, the Cuban Missile Crisis, the first man on the moon.

Of course, there is one problem. My grandkids will probably file such a book under “historical fiction.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sweetiepiepen
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 08:03:07

    Do it, Sandy! It will eventually mean something to them. I was just thinking about how much air travel has changed in my lifetime and how kids today know nothing about when you used to be able to go all the way to the gate to see someone off and watch their plane depart. Even small things like that should be documented, I think. There will come a day when no one will remember that used to be the norm.

    Reply

  2. CristineGzr
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 09:22:03

    I remember driving my Grandmother someplace, when she casually pointed to a red brick building and said, “Oh, you were born there, the nuns had a Maternity hospital there once.”

    She lit a spark and I asked her “where did you meet Grampa?” She said: “Oh, ice skating at Nut’s Pond, Daddy met Mommy ice skating too. It was a thing in our family.” Then asked her where did Grampa propose and she said “Stark’s Park.” So, I quickly drove there and as we were walking around the beautiful park, I asked more questions, it was like pulling teeth! Eventually, I learned that she was sitting on the canon in a red plaid pleated wool skirt, when my Grandfather said: “Well, how about it Caroline? It’s time we do this.”

    I found it terribly romantic and a joy to learn my Grandfather was as laconic as a young man as he was in his 80’s. Sadly, my Grandmother was still angry at him for not being more romantic! …I don’t know, but sitting on a big old phallic remnant of the revolutionary war might be considered erotic but with grandparents I kept that to myself!

    It turned out that no one in my family knew these stories. No one knew about Nut’s Pond but it seemed several cousins and even my parents met there ice skating! Had we girls known, who knows where we’d all be? 😉 I think oral histories are wonderful, so much gets lost. It is also very easy to make private oral histories on youTube that only family can access, and burned to CD of course! I get sad thinking of all the good stuff that goes to ground, six feet under! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

