Where do I go from here?

I got a disturbing e-mail the other day. My publisher is going out of business.  I have published two books with her and now I am cast adrift.

I do get my rights back. So I can re-submit to another publisher, which is daunting. Who wants to publish a book that has already been published?

I could try to find an agent willing to take on finding a new home for the books, but in my experience getting an agent is about as likely as winning the Power Ball.

I could self-publish, which a lot of authors are doing. The books are already edited and formatted. I would have to remove any references to the former publisher.  In fact, I have to put a disclaimer everywhere I have a picture of the  current covers saying the book is no longer available and that the image belongs to the artist who created it.

If I decide to self-publish, I have to either contact the cover artists and buy the rights from them or create a new cover for each book.

And the ISBN — I can’t use the one the publisher used so I need to purchase a new one. It comes free with CreateSpace, but would I be further ahead to get one separate from them? Does it make a difference?

Frankly, I feel ready to sit down and cry. But that won’t accomplish anything, so I’d better get busy and make some plans.

Any suggestions or advice will be greatly appreciated!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deniseleton
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 08:35:41

    Oh, Sandy, I’m sorry to hear that! It appears you do have options but I can certainly understand your frustration right now. Good luck with everything!

    Reply

  2. Ashantay Peters
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 11:23:38

    Best wishes on sorting through this difficulty. Have you spoken with anyone who has self-pubbed and gotten their input? We have a few folks in CRW who may be able to help.

    Reply

    • Sandy Bruney
      Aug 19, 2013 @ 08:24:39

      Thanks. I have self-pubbed a few books and know the mechanics, Just not sure it was wise as I lack the recommended “platform.” I need to learn more about marketing.

      Reply

  3. CristineGzr
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 13:10:08

    Sandy, you are one of the strongest women I know, I am sure when this settles, you’ll sort it out and plow through it. I was reading an interesting article on publishing backlists, when you get your rights back. A new cover and self publish can often garner new sales. Also, there are companies that will do it all for you. Every single journal I have been published in went out of business before the millennium changed. Of course, that is par for the course with poetry! Of course, the only lesson I learned was I shouldn’t have given my author copies to family. I wish I had them now, but they probably ended up in some yard sale or Goodwill bag! You have so many friends who love and admire you at your Chapter, CRW, I’m sure many will be able help you, as Ashantay mentioned. Good luck!

    Reply

    • Sandy Bruney
      Aug 19, 2013 @ 08:27:33

      Your comment made me feel 100% more confident. Talked to my oldest son yesterday and he said he would help with the new covers if I decide to self-pub. He did my book trailer, so he knows what he is doing. I am blessed with all the support I am getting. Thank you!

      Reply

  4. jeniburns
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 15:46:53

    Sandy, I’m so sorry to hear that you are having to deal with this. But like so many others have already said, I’m sure this will be a path to new sales for you if you decide to self-pub them. I wish you all the best with it. I know it will all work out though! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

