Who copied who?

My husband and I both love to read, but it isn’t often we share a liking for the same book. He likes action, adventure, and crime novels, while I like historical romances, literary, and what is called “women’s fiction.”

But we both like J.D. Robb’s “__ in Death” series with policewoman Eve Dallas and her   genius, handsome, rich husband, Roarke.

I envy Eve — not for her  husband, but for a little perk Eve has that I do not: an auto-chef. When Eve comes home too tired from chasing bad guys to cook dinner for Roarke, all she has to do is program this nifty little appliance for whatever they want to eat, and a few minutes later it is delivered.

For years I thought, “If only…” until one day I picked up the newspaper  to discover there is no “if only.” The auto-chef exists. In real time.

They call it a 3-D printer. The article I read told how the government is experimenting with the device to feed astronauts on their way to Mars. The machine will be loaded with protein, carbohydrate, dairy and other powders including vitamins and minerals. Each astronaut’s dietary needs and preferences will be programmed. When she’s ready to eat, she pushes a few buttons and out pops a meal prepared especially for her.

NASA can call it a 3-D printer if it wants to. I call it an auto-chef.

Since that article, I’ve read how the 3-D printer has been programed to create organs for the human body, a working gun, and an episode on “Big Bang Theory.”

My question is, did Roberts (okay, we all know Nora Roberts is J.D. Robb) have some advance information about this invention, or did one of her fans, who also happened to be an inventor, read about it and say, “Aha! If it can be imagined, it can be created!” ?

Or, does art copy life or life copy art?

That’s a question for philosophers, and I am not one. I am a lazy writer and I want an auto-chef.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CristineGzr
    Jun 30, 2013 @ 07:11:53

    I’ve been waiting for the ‘beaming’ technology like on Start Trek. I want to beam a piece of birthday cake to a friend, when travel isn’t possible or beam my self into a friend’s backyard for a drink or visa versa. Or beam a box of fried clams from the Clam Shack in Orchard Beach, Maine… But, if the auto chef could do a rich Cafe Au Lait with a plate of beignets from Café du Monde, then I’d find it very useful! Actually, I could use a bucketful of that chicory heaven right now!

    Reply

  2. Sia St Martin
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 21:11:49

    LOL – Yes, I’m waiting for that teleportation technology to get here too. I hate having to drive 3.5 hours to get to my mountain property. I want to push a button and be there and push a button and get back — then I could go there all the time and not have to wait for a 4-day weekend!

    Wow — the gun I knew about with the 3D printer but the meals I didn’t. Wow. Just wow. The future is here.

    Reply

  3. CristineGzr
    Jul 23, 2013 @ 09:59:07

    Sandy, I was just listening to the Nora Roberts interview recording from 2012 and she was asked about the technology in her J.D. Robb books. Of course, she’s stunned that the technology she wrote in 1995 is here now! but she is still frustrated: “Where is my autochef?”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

