Welcome Chat with a New Mimosa: Sandy Bruney

tala

I was beginning to feel like the lone gray wolf on the wrong end of the teeter-totter with all the young pups on the other side! So, I invited a  crone/wise woman to our mimosa banquet!(I wanted to say ‘another’ but my age has not made me wise, so I am crone-in-training, kneeling at Sandy’s feet.)

I am also feeling too lazy/overwhelmed/burned out to think of anything brilliant to say in a post. So, my absolutely cunning and devious plan is to let someone speak who is consistently brilliant! Therefore, I am posting my Monday post on Sandy’s Sunday… look for her first post next week!

bridecover-lowresWelcome Sandy, please briefly introduce yourself:

Okay, here goes:
I live in N.C.with my husband, Jim. We have three adult sons and three grandchildren. We both love to read and often recommend books to each other. We’ve always had dogs and cats around; down to one cat now who thinks my iPad is her pillow.

1. What was the first book that inspired you to write?

“My Friend Flicka” by Mary O’Hara. I was about 7 or 8 and thought it would be wonderful to write a story like that. Our mother read half of it to my sister and me and told us to finish it ourselves, which is what spurred us to become readers.

2. How has your life molded you into a writer.

I think the fact that I held so many jobs and met so many people. All had a story to tell.

3. What is the first story you remember writing or telling?

It was about a horse (of course) but I quit because at 8 years old I couldn’t spell that well.

4. What writer living or dead would you like to read your books?

Maeve Binchey. I love her books and was so sad to hear she had died.

5. Who is your audience or target reader?

Women 40 or older who like a good story about women their age, not 20-something heroines. Women who have life experiences and can relate to divorce, widowhood, loss of a job, etc.

6. How many books have you written?

Oh my. Two traditionally published, two self-published (one fiction, one nonfiction) and one self-published with a co-writer. Three partials that need more work, and one making the query rounds.

7. What is your favorite and least favorite part of writing?

My favorite part is getting that first idea down on paper (er, word processing program) and developing the characters and plot. Least favorite is promoting the book after it is published.

8. What advice do you have for aspiring writers?

It’s been said over and over, but don’t give up. Believe In yourself, but don’t hesitate to take advice and continue to learn the craft. Sign up for workshops and attend conferences. And read, not only your genre but others.

9. What tips do you have for new members of RWA or CRW?

Go to the meetings. Sounds silly, but so many get too busy to go and miss out on the speakers, workshops, and the camaraderie. Why pay the money and not attend? Also, volunteer. You learn more by participating and giving back to the group.

10. What is you next goal in life?

Oh, that ‘s easy. To write a book that ranks #1 on Amazon, #1 on the N.Y Times best seller list and gets a movie offer. (Laughing maniacally)

How’s that? Sunday is my choice for posting, I feel more reflective. If I could start a week ahead and write a week in advance because I know you don’t want me posting at 4 p.m.

Sandy

Thank you, Sandy! You can post at whatever time you want, the later in the day so be it! Your words will only be more anticipated. Your answers generated more questions, as I am sure they did for our readers. So I’ll start the comments with a follow-up question! And thank you again for you contribution!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CristineGzr
    Jun 09, 2013 @ 09:24:50

    Thank you Sandy for joining us and thank you for allowing me to ambush you! I am intrigued about the many jobs you mentioned in question 2. Any chance of sharing a few with us and also if any taught you anything surprising?

    Reply

  2. Sandy Bruney
    Jun 09, 2013 @ 12:31:12

    In order, starting at age 14: serving soft ice cream in an amusement park, waterfront counselor at Girl Scout Camp, winding bobbins in a battery mfg. plant (boring!), elementary itinerant art teacher, junior high art teacher, bank teller, newspaper stringer to reporter to editor, administrative assistant for the chamber of commerce (after I “retired” from the newspaper), partner in a media consulting company, and now, “author.” I learned that although shy, I love working with people, helping people, and hearing their stories.

    Reply

  3. Pep Scheer
    Jun 10, 2013 @ 08:00:05

    Sandy, I understand you attended Alfred University. Will you tell us about some of your friends there and what drew you to them?

    Reply

  4. Sandy Bruney
    Jun 10, 2013 @ 11:36:30

    Awesome ladies! I think what drew us together was our shared sense of the absurd. I’m proud we are still friends after all these years.

    Reply

  5. natalieratcliffe
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 23:48:48

    So glad to know a little more about you Sandy!! Great post Cris!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

