I Just Swoon for Those WTF! Men

There are these men on Television, in Books and in Movies who grab me and hold me. You know the guy… he is a good guy or at least tries to be. It seems he has a target on his back and all the bad guys are out for him. He has a code and tries to live by it but life just keeps pushing him over the edge. Oddly, he often has bad luck with women, mainly because he isn’t the bad-boy for whom the heroine is lusting or he loses the woman to the bad boy. Several times in the story the hero gives that crooked grin and shrugs his shoulders and his eyes say: “WTF! not again!”

I never liked the bad boys but they liked me. I was always attracted to the WTF-guy but he was always looking for the Bad girl, which I guess made me the WTF!girl. I held out though, got my heart bruised by a few bad boys but married two of the good guys. I lost the first to cancer, which he responded to like a good guy, “WTF! oh, well…” he was a good guy to the end. My new husband is a good guy but I am beginning to suspect, he is just too damned lazy to be devious, which is okay too.

I am following Jenna Patrick‘s Cut the Crap method of editing, which I learned at the January CRW meeting. As I am mapping out my Turning Points, I am thinking a lot about my two main men and the conflict they create for my heroine. I stopped to think about the WTF!men who turn me on:

  • Tom Selleck as Magnum PI and as Jesse Stone
  • Alcide in the Sookie Stackhouse books
  • Harry Dresden in the Dresden Files
  • Eric Northman in True Blood
  • Raylan in Justified

I think what really sets this hero apart from all others in my heart is their lasting power. The bad boys in life, film and fiction, just don’t last the test of time. But, Tom Selleck is still pulling my heart strings on Netflix as Magnum and even as Jesse Stone, who is conceivably a burnout, older Magnum.

Oddly, sometimes the same character does not grab me the same way in both mediums. I like Raylan’s character in the Elmore Leonard stories but he is more WTF! in the television series. Eric is too evil in the Sookie Stackhouse books, albeit a nice guy when he has amnesia –but the actor portrays a vulnerability on the show that isn’t there in the books. I am not saying one works and the other doesn’t in these cases it works both ways, but it seems important to me to figure out how to accomplish this and make sure my main men are who I want the to be!

So, I add a WTF! notation next the two men who are pulling my heroine in two directions.

Leave a Reply

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

Rurally Screwed

Jessie Knadler

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

WTFville

when life surprises you!

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Chocolate Box

Romance for Every Taste

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Chick Lit Is Not Dead

Two girls who believe that books with high fashion and happy endings never go out of style

Angela Quarles

Witty, Charming, Captivating Fiction

