May the Sith be with you

imagesMy husband and my friend Maria in Santa Monica are Star Warsians, or whatever you call them. I’ve gone to all the movies and survived many marathons with my husband in our living room. I’ve listened to all the radio show CDs many times. Unlike my dear husband, I wasn’t a little boy when the movies came out. Unlike my friend Maria, I was never blessed with a son. So, I never identified with Luke Skywalker, I found him a whiney young man, who was not so much selfish, as he was a typical teenager. The hero Han Solo was one of those love ’em and leave ’em, kinda guys… too cocky for me, heartbreak was not a goal on my bucket-list, I assumed correctly that life would be eager to give me this experience, if I gave it a chance. Princess Lea was too irritating for me and her bear-claw braids too silly. The robots were cute and Yoda was adorable for a hero, but for potential steaminess, not so much. Darth Vader seemed like a mysterious interesting character but he was too 2-dimensional, pure evil with barley a hint of humanity is boring. Wookies had potential –if only they shifted into sexy werewolf hunks like on True Blood…

darth_maul_sith_lords_6There was one exception that emerged in a later movie and it distressed my dear husband… When I first saw the Sith Lord with his red and black tattooed face, I blurted out: “Holy shit, he’s hot!” Was it the hoodie? The classic misunderstood bad boy? or maybe the bad boy, who can be saved by the right woman?… whatever, I was so sad when he got cut in half and tossed iton a big hole in the starship… but, maybe that dark force could stitch him back together? I reminded myself again, Lucas wasn’t making chic-flicks and maybe there should be an equally dismissive name for movies made for boys like dick-flicks? No, that’s too rude but I’ll keep referring to them in my head this way. Maybe, Brats in Space? Space Balls, yeah that’s it! I thoroughly enjoyed and still enjoy that movie.

Perhaps we need more women writing screenplays to get more of those dark heroic characters. Wuthering Heights, Pride and Prejudice, and so many more classic books featured that tortured archetype, the really, bad boy heroes. The guys your Mother warned you about. I am sure Mom’s everywhere in the  Galactic Republic told their daughters to stay away from those bad boys in red –find a nice boy with a future, like Luke.  I am just as sure there were galactic teens and women everywhere ignoring that advice, who were positively convinced they could make that tattooed face smile and heal his tortured soul… make little tattooed babies…

So today on May Sith, I plan on going back into my WIP and making my hero a little more bad and a little more Sith… because unlike real life, in a book that bad boy can be saved by a goodish woman who sees the heart in the misunderstood hero! Of course, it helps that my hero is Loki. My fellow Mimosa Morning Writer, Penny will tell you that Loki is just totally misunderstood… and unlike Hollywood, the real Loki of Norwegian Sagas (not British revisionism) is not so bad a god and way more interesting than big, strong and handsome Thor!

Who is your favorite bad boy? darth_maul_sith_lords_9

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CristineGzr
    May 06, 2013 @ 09:13:46

    Update: my husband petulantly pointed out to me that the Sith Lord has horns… and I am sure he knows how to use them!

    Reply

  2. jeniburns
    May 06, 2013 @ 09:27:06

    Oh, where to start?? I LOVE Eric Northman from Charlaine Harris’ Southern Vampire Series and that was before Alexander Skarsgard took the role in True Blood. Ranger in Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series… Seriously, peeps, I ❤ Ranger big time! There's just something about a bad boy that draws you in and makes you want to be the one who makes them change their ways…

    Reply

    • CristineGzr
      May 06, 2013 @ 10:31:35

      I completely agree about Eric Northman, he really resonated when I was reading the books long before True Blood, but Alexander Skarsgard did not disappoint! When he lost his memory in the book and on the show I melted! I think learning the hard way that bad boys can not be cured in real life, make them even better heros in literature! The possibility is never smashed by reality!

      Reply

  3. Maria
    May 06, 2013 @ 17:23:35

    Haha! The enchantment of Star Wars came long before I birthed my boys. I loved the idea of space and a world of drama beyond my safe little haven on Earth. Han Solo and Chewbacca are my favorite characters, the swaggering, smart alec, reluctant hero is more my style while the Sith is just a bit too dark for my liking.

    Reply

    • CristineGzr
      May 06, 2013 @ 20:05:49

      Maria, that’s it -the “reluctant hero” I know you like smart alec’s -if not, we would never have become such good friends so fast in SF! The Sith Lord is all in my head and it’s not dark at all! He picks posies in a field, there are rainbows and unicorns and I weave a daisy chain through and around his horns… all to John Denver songs that he sings to me… oh, I think I just made my self sick… ;P

      Reply

  4. natalieratcliffe
    May 06, 2013 @ 19:22:39

    Love this topic! My favorite bad boy/hero from a novel has to be Jericho Barrons from the Fever series, (by Karen Marie Moning). He’s tattooed, beastly, beautifully sculpted and it’s all packaged with a no-BS attitude. In the series, you never really find out what he is making his mystique undeniably sexy. Plus, he has incredible taste in fast, growling sports cars and works partly out of a bookstore (swoon).

    By the way, this is my favorite paragraph. Read it out loud to the hubs and he really liked it too, especially the tattooed babies part.

    “Perhaps we need more women writing screenplays to get more of those dark heroic characters. Wuthering Heights, Pride and Prejudice, and so many more classic books featured that tortured archetype, the really, bad boy heroes. The guys your Mother warned you about. I am sure Mom’s everywhere in the Galactic Republic told their daughters to stay away from those bad boys in red –find a nice boy with a future, like Luke. I am just as sure there were galactic teens and women everywhere ignoring that advice, who were positively convinced they could make that tattooed face smile and heal his tortured soul… make little tattooed babies…”

    Great read. Now excuse me while I write with Pride and Prejudice playing in the background.

    Reply

    • CristineGzr
      May 06, 2013 @ 20:01:21

      It’s been pointed out to me, Natalie, by my DH… that the Sith Lord is all in my head. He had no story, he had very little screen time… I have to agree and that is why he is such a great bad boy in my mind -he did it all with so little LOL Enjoy Pride and Prejudice! Darcy sizzled on the page and Colin Firth is my fav Darcy!

      Reply

  5. deniseleton
    May 09, 2013 @ 06:24:20

    As you mentioned, I’ve got a soft spot for Loki, but he’s just the latest in a long line of bad boys for me! I agree with the earlier comments about Eric from the Sookie Stackhouse series; thought I love the portrayal of him on True Blood, book Eric is still my fave.

    On TV, my #1 favorite bad boy, is Jax Teller from the FX series Sons of Anarchy. Just…..UNF!

    My favorite swoon worthy partially reformed bad boy is Roarke from the J.D. Robb In Death series. Roarke is EVERYTHING!

    My newest bad boy obsession on TV is Klaus from the The Vampire Diaries and the soon to come series The Originals.

    I could go on but, alas, I have a blog post to finish! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

My Mad Siberian Gulag

Hostage to Two Siberian Huskies

Blue Ridge Vinlandia

The Wineries of the Applalacian Foothills

Summer in New Hampshire

NH - America's Vacationland

Mimosa Mornings Writers

Writers Wearing PJs, drinking coffee, dreaming mimosas

Jennie Spallone

MYSTERY AUTHOR, SPEAKER, AND BOOK REVIEWER

The Dream Well

Dream Well, Be Well

Ozark Pagan Mamma

A Journey of Evolving Folk Traditions

WTFville

Paintings, Portraits and Sketches

Farm to Table Asian Secrets

Full-Flavored Recipes for Every Season

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

Book Ends and Odds

Mary Incontro blogs on books, pop culture, and criminal cases

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction